Biography

Christian Drengk was born in Weimar, Germany in 1988 and studied church music (Master) under the supervision of Martin Schmeding as well as piano (Bachelor) under Gilead Mishory in Freiburg. Currently, he does his Master studies in orchestral conducting under Lutz Köhler’s and Massimiliano Matesic.

After having won eight federal German awards at “Jugend musiziert” (“Youth Makes Music”), he won prizes at the European Young Organists Competition Ljubljana, the Bertold Hummel Competition Regensburg, the Competition of the Museum Society of Freiburg, the Rheinberger Organ Competition Vaduz, the Stavenhagen Piano Competition Greiz, and the Rotary Piano Competition Essen – among others. In 2011, he won the VII. International Tariverdiev Competition in Kaliningrad, Russia, in conjunction with invitations to concerts in Hamburg, the Netherlands, and the USA.

Christian Drengk has been a multiple stipendiary of the state of Thüringen, received a European Prize by the cultural foundation “Pro Europa” in organ studies in 2008, and was admitted to the German National Academic Foundation in 2010.

Since 2009, he has been a cantor at the Auferstehungskirche in Freiburg-Littenweiler and is in charge of the concert series “Stunde der Kirchenmusik”. From 2010 to 2014, he was conductor of the university choir of Albert-Ludwigs University Freiburg and at the same time accepted the artistic management of the “bachensemble freiburg”.

As a conductor and assistant, he worked with well-known orchestras and choirs, e.g. Academic Orchestra Freiburg, Young Chamber Philharmonics Freiburg, Balthasar Neumann Ensemble, Monteverdi Choir Hamburg, Boys’ Church Choir Basel, Bach Choir of Freiburg, and Oratory Choir Freiburg.

Christian Drengk took master classes for organ under Daniel Roth, Jaques van Oortmerssen, and Edgar Krapp, and he is grateful for significant conductorial stimuli by having worked with Manfred Schreier, Nicolas Pásquet, and Hans Michael Beuerle.

Performances as organist, pianist, and conductor at festivals domestically and abroad (ION “Musica sacra" Nuremberg, “Orgelkring” Roermond) as well as radio broadcasts and an educational engagement complement his profile.

Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© Christian Drengk

Künstlerischer Werdegang

Christian Drengk wurde 1988 in Weimar geboren und studierte in Freiburg Kirchenmusik (Master) bei Martin Schmeding, Orchesterleitung (Master) bei Lutz Köhler, Klavier (Bachelor) bei Gilead Mishory und schloss im Januar 2017 sein Solistendiplom im Konzertfach Orgel mit Auszeichnung ab.

 

Nach acht Bundespreisen bei „Jugend musiziert“ wurde er Preisträger u.a. beim Europäischen Wettbewerb junger Organisten Ljubljana, Bertold-Hummel-Wettbewerb Regensburg, Wettbewerb der Museumsgesellschaft Freiburg, Rheinberger-Orgelwettbewerb Vaduz, Stavenhagen-Klavierwettbewerb Greiz und Rotary-Klavierwettbewerb Essen. 2011 gewann er den VII. Internationalen Tariverdiev-Wettbewerb im russischen Kaliningrad verbunden mit Konzerteinladungen nach Hamburg, den Niederlanden und den USA.

 

Christian Drengk war mehrfach Stipendiat des Freistaates Thüringen, erhielt 2008 einen Europäischen Förderpreis der Kulturstiftung „Pro Europa" im Fach Orgel und wurde 2010 in die Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes aufgenommen.

 

Von 2009 bis 2015 war er Kantor an der Auferstehungskirche in Freiburg und wurde im März 2015 auf die Stelle als hauptamtlicher A-Kirchenmusiker an der Freiburger Ludwigsgemeinde berufen. Von 2010-2014 war er Dirigent des Universitätschores der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg und hatte von 2011-2015 die künstlerische Leitung des „bachensemble freiburg“ inne.

 

Als Dirigent und Assistent arbeitete er mit namhaften Orchestern und Chören, darunter Stuttgarter Kammerorchester, Akademisches Orchester Freiburg, Junge Kammerphilharmonie Freiburg, Sinfonieorchester und Chor der Musikhochschule Freiburg, Balthasar-Neumann-Ensemble, Monteverdi-Chor Hamburg, Knabenkantorei Basel, Freiburger Bachchor.

 

Er besuchte Meisterkurse für Orgel bei Daniel Roth, Jaques van Oortmerssen, Edgar Krapp und verdankt wichtige dirigentische Impulse der Arbeit mit Manfred Schreier, Nicolas Pásquet und Hans Michael Beuerle.

 

Auftritte als Organist, Pianist und Dirigent bei Festivals im In- und Ausland (u.a. ION „Musica sacra“ Nürnberg, Lux-Festspiele Thüringen, „Orgelkring“ Roermond), sowie Rundfunkaufnahmen und eine pädagogische Tätigkeit ergänzen sein künstlerisches Profil.

Druckversion Druckversion | Sitemap
© Christian Drengk